Meet Our Committees

Pin It

Physical Activity Advisory Committee

Recreation NL formed this Physical Activity Advisory Committee to support its overall work around physical activity including the promotions and communications Campaign, Find Your Fit! and other special projects and initiatives. Purpose: To assist with the development, collaboration, coordination and delivery of Recreation NL’s Physical Activity Campaign.

  • Jerry Knee, Physical Activity Board Representative
  • TA Loeffler, Post-Secondary Representative
  • Paul Lahey, Post-Secondary Representative
  • Natalie Godden, Urban Municipal Recreation Representative
  • Rhonda Power, Rural Municipal Recreation Representative
  • Bruce Knox, Health/Wellness Representative
  • Carla Sullivan, Recreation NL, Physical Activity Coordinator

Inclusion Advisory Committee

Purpose: To provide Recreation NL with advice, guidance and support for inclusive recreation. Role of the Advisory Committee:

  1. To provide support/advise on the development and delivery of inclusive recreation
  2. To identify collaboration and partnership opportunities that either enhances or advances inclusive recreation
  3. To explore the need for evaluation as it relates to inclusive recreation
  • Steve Martin, Town of Holyrood
  • Trevor Paine, Dept. of Tourism, Culture & Recreation
  • Eileen Bartlett, Easter Seals NL
  • Megan Cummings, Recreation NL
  • Gillian Redmond, NL Therapeutic Recreation Assoc.
  • Dr. Anne Marie Sullivan, Memorial University
  • Trisha Rose, City of St. John’s

HIGH FIVE Advisory Committee

Recreation NL established this HIGH FIVE Advisory Committee in 2013 to support the development, growth and positioning of HIGH FIVE as the standard for quality programming in this province. Purpose: To provide advice and guidance towards the overall development of Recreation NL HIGH FIVE: including supporting and advising, the development and delivery of HIGH FIVE components.

  • Tina Auchinleck-Ryan, Chair
  • Annette Oldford, City of St. John’s
  • Dr. Linda Rohr, Memorial University
  • Bill Taggart, Sport NL
  • Lisa Lake, HIGH FIVE Trainer
  • Mike Jacobs, HIGH FIVE Trainer
  • Carla Hodder, Registered Organization – Town of Conception Bay South

Arena Operators Committee

A committee of current Arena Managers which works to assist Recreation NL on the needs of Arena Operators in the province in the areas of professional development/training and advisory.

  • Norman Hill, The Bay Arena in Bay Roberts
  • Ed Clarke, Trinity Placentia Arena in Whitbourne

Aquatics Committee

An advisory committee of aquatics experts working in the aquatics sector. They assist Recreation NL on the needs and issues of the aquatics in the province in areas of professional development/training, communications and advisory.

  • Sheldon Andrews, Town of Conception Bay South
  • Leslie White, City of St. John’s
  • Janet O’Conner, The Works
  • Rob Button, Town of Carbonear